DISCOVER THE DRIFTLESS
Connect with us!
Image may be subject to copyright

Historic Landmarks

Around the Area
Image may be subject to copyright
House on rock

House On the Rock

An Experience That You Will Never Forget

The House on the Rock has been around for over 60 years and has been a work in progress. The project began in 1945 when Alex Jorden had a goal.
placeholder

FORT CRAWFORD

Fort Crawford stood guard over Prairie du Chien, Wisconsin, from 1816 until 1856. Now, the Fort Crawford Museum displays the history of the fort, its city, and the many lives that crossed here.

Visit us May through October for a self-guided tour, reserve a group tour, or attend an upcoming event. Your group may setup a tour November-April by calling 608-326-6960.
Image may be subject to copyright
villa louis prairie du chien wi

VILLA LOUIS

Villa Louis is a Wisconsin State Historic Site. We are an immaculately restored Victorian house museum on the banks of the Upper Mississippi River.
Image may be subject to copyright
sherry-butt-house

Sherry Butt House

Lt. Col. Cyrus M. Butt built one of Viroqua's oldest homes in the Federal style in 1870, after his valiant service in the Civil War. He and his wife, Margaret (McAuley), raised their five children in this home and left it to their daughter, Jane. Many original pieces remain with the house, including a Rococo square grand piano. 
placeholder

St Francis Hermitage

Welcome to our Restaurant where a Good Table awaits you; discover its French gourmet menus, its unique dishes and its Organic Dessert Trolley, signature of St Roger Abbey® finely handcrafted by our Nuns.
Image may be subject to copyright
mount-homer-veterans-memorial-park

MT. HOSMER

Spectacular panoramic view of fifty miles of the beautiful Mississippi River valley rewards visitors who take the sidetrip up the 104-acre Mount Hosmer City Park, situated on a bluff 450 feet above the town of Lansing. The park is named for Harriet Hosmer, a sculptress, who won a footrace to the summit of the hill during a steamboat layover during the 1850s. Savor the natural splendor of Iowa and neighboring Wisconsin and Minnesota from this scenic overlook. To access the park, drive west on Lansing's Main Street and make a left on 6th Street and continue up.
Image may be subject to copyright
taliesin wisconsin

TALIESIN WISCONSIN

Taliesin is the home, studio, school, and 800-acre estate of Frank Lloyd Wright (1867-1959). Located in the Driftless Region of southwestern Wisconsin near Spring Green, Taliesin is the name of Wright's home as well as the estate that includes buildings from nearly every decade of Wright's career from the 1890s to the 1950s. Taliesin has a commanding presence in Jones Valley, the land along Wisconsin River where Wright's Lloyd Jones ancestors settled in the 1860s after emigrating from Wales 20 years before. Taliesin was named in honor of his Welsh heritage: The name of a druid bard, Taliesin literally means "shining brow." Its many wings and terraces reach out to frame the crown of the hill, embracing the site and standing as "brow." Taliesin is designated as a National Historic Landmark (1974) and inscribed as part of a UNESCO World Heritage Site (2019)
Image may be subject to copyright
Eagle Cave Blue River Wisconsin

EAGLE CAVE 

Eagle Cave is an onyx cave located near Blue River, Wisconsin, in Richland County, Wisconsin, United States. Eagle Cave is known as Wisconsin's largest onyx cave and was the first cave to be commercially owned and operated in Wisconsin. The cave was discovered in 1849 and opened to the public in 1938. It is a popular camping destination, especially during the fall, winter, and spring months, when youth group campers are allowed to camp inside the cave and participate in their cave exploratory program. The cave exploratory program has been operating since 1954.
Spook Cave & Campground

SPOKE CAVE

Spook Cave is a flooded cave located about seven miles west of McGregor in rural Clayton County, Iowa. It is privately owned and operated as a tourist attraction offering escorted boat rides into the cave. The cave was first discovered in 1953 and opened for business in 1955